HUNTSVILLE — The start of early voting for the Aug. 7 general election and state primary is now just two weeks away, and the Scott County Election Commission Office has unveiled early voting hours.

On Friday, July 18, early voting hours will be from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. On Saturday, July 19, early voting hours will be from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Early voting hours will be 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday-Thursday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. each Friday and 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. each Saturday. The final day to vote early will be Saturday, Aug. 2.
Election day is Thursday, Aug. 7.

Voters who plan to cast their ballots early can do so in one of two locations — the Scott County Office Building in Huntsville, or the Oneida Municipal Services Building.

The most heated race on the 2014 ballot is County Mayor, which will see five candidates vying for the position. Incumbent Jeff Tibbals is challenged by current county commissioner Paul Strunk, Oneida businessman Dale Perdue, church pastor Wayne King and Oneida’s Harold Brooks.

Other contested county-wide races include sheriff, which sees incumbent Ronnie Phillips contested in his first election by former chief deputy Bobby Ellis. In the road superintendent race, incumbent Dick Sexton is challenged by Oneida contractor Dale Boyatt. The trustee’s race will see incumbent Jimmy D. Byrd square off against Cindy Strunk and Rebecca Terry Strunk.

County attorney John Beaty, clerk Pat Phillips, Circuit Court clerk Donnie Phillips, and register of deeds Benjie Rector will all run without opposition.

The 8th Judicial District races will also prove interesting. In the District Attorney General’s race, incumbent Lori Phillips-Jones is challenged by former assistant D.A. Jared Effler, from Maynardville. In the public defender’s race, incumbent Mark Blakley is opposed by fellow Scott Countian Leif Jeffers, currently an assistant D.A. In the chancellor’s race, incumbent Andy Tillman is opposed by Campbell County attorney Elizabeth Asbury. Circuit Court Judge John D. McAfee and Criminal Court Judge E. Shayne Sexton are unopposed.