Oneida's 6-1 win over Oakdale Tuesday afternoon handed the Eagles their first District 4-A loss of the season and left the Indians one win away from their first undefeated district season in school history.

Oneida, which will close out the regular season at Oakdale on Thursday for the teams' second game of the series, is attempting to defend its district championship from last season, the school's first since 1981.

In Tuesday's win at Bear Creek, Tanner Sexton and Lukas Phillips each had two RBIs to power the Indians. Sexton also scored a run, on a two-of-three batting performance.

Caleb Lee had an RBI and scored two runs, while district MVP Cole West also had an RBI and two runs scored.

Matt Williams earned the win for Oneida, allowing just two hits in seven innings, while striking out nine batters.

Thursday's game will begin at 6 p.m. The District 4-A tournament begins Monday at Bear Creek. Oneida's first game will be at 7:30 p.m. Monday. Oneida and Oakdale will have the two first round byes in the tournament, but the No. 1 seed is still up the air, pending Thursday's game. The No. 1 seed will play the winner of Oliver Springs and Sunbright, who will face off Friday in Oliver Springs, while the No. 2 seed will play the winner of Wartburg and Jellico.

District 4's tiebreaker is runs scored. Due to Oneida's 5-run victory over Oakdale Tuesday, the Eagles would have to defeat the Indians by more than five runs on Thursday to claim the No. 1 seed. If Oakdale were to beat Oneida by exactly five runs, Oneida would still own the tiebreaker due to giving up only one run against the district's 3-seed, Wartburg, while Oakdale gave up two runs against the Bulldogs.

"Everything tilts in our favor, but we still have to go out and play another game of baseball," Oneida coach Shawn West said. "We have to be sure we take care of business or we could wind up losing that No. 1 seed."

The championship series will begin Tuesday at 7:30 p.m. The second game will be Thursday, May 8, at 5:30 p.m. Game three of the championship series, if necessary, will be at 7:30 p.m. Thursday.